Oscar 2013 Winners are “Paperman” and “Brave”

Oscar 2013 Winners are Paperman and Brave

In the night from 24 to 25 February 2013 took place the 85th ceremony of the Academy Award. The Best Short Animated Film is “Paperman” directed by John Kahrs. The Best Animated Feature film is “Brave” directed by Mark Andrews, Brenda Chapman, Steve Purcell.

Best Short Animated Film


Best Short Animated Film - Paperman

John Kahrs on Paperman

The middle of the 20th century. New York. A lonely young man on the platform station. Another moment and Fate will give him an amazing chance that might happen once in life. He will meet a beautiful woman, whose eyes instantly win his heart. But the girl of his dreams disappears as quickly as appears. Will our character have a second chance?

Best Animated Feature film


Best Animated Feature film - Brave

Brave "The Prize" Trailer

For centuries myths and legends of the mysterious veil wrap picturesque foothills of the Scottish mountains. Skilful archer Merida has to choose her own path in life, and one day she refuses to follow kingdom’s ancient traditions, challenging powerful Scottish clans and their leaders: Lord MakGaffinu, Lord Macintosh and Lord Dingvollu. When Merida’s incautious actions threaten to plunge the kingdom in the chaos, she goes for advice to an eccentric anchoress, who instead of helping imposes Merida a dangerous spell. Young princess must rely on her own courage to overcome the powerful magic and defeat the most dreaded beast of those that are found in the mountain valleys.

The Winners and The Nominees:

ACTRESS in a Supporting Role

  • Sally Field — «Lincoln»
  • Anne Hathaway — «Les Misérables» - The Winner
  • Jacki Weaver — «Silver Linings Playbook»
  • Helen Hunt — «The Sessions»
  • Amy Adams — «The Master»

ACTOR in a Supporting Role

  • Christoph Waltz — «Django Unchained» - The Winner
  • Philip Seymour Hoffman — «The Master»
  • Robert De Niro — «Silver Linings Playbook»
  • Alan Arkin — «Argo»
  • Tommy Lee Jones — «Lincoln» 

MUSICOriginal Song

  • "Before My Time" from Chasing Ice
  • "Pi's Lullaby" from Life of Pi
  • "Everybody Needs A Best Friend" from Ted
  • "Skyfall" from Skyfall – The Winner
  • "Suddenly" from Les Misérables

MUSICOriginal Score

  • «Skyfall» — Thomas Newman
  •  «Anna Karenina» — Dario Marianelli
  • «Life of Pi» — Mychael Danna – The Winner
  • «Lincoln» — John Williams
  • «Argo» — Alexandre Desplat


  • «Skyfall» - The Winner
  • «Django Unchained»
  •  «Life of Pi»
  • «Argo»
  • «Zero Dark Thirty» - The Winner


  • «Skyfall»
  •  «Life of Pi»
  • «Lincoln»
  •  «Argo»
  • «Les Misérables» - The Winner


  • «Snow White and the Huntsman»
  • «Life of Pi» - The Winner
  •  «Marvel's The Avengers»
  • «Prometheus»
  • «The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey»


  • Curfew – The Winner
  • Asad
  • Buzkashi Boys
  • Death of a Shadow (Dood van een Schaduw)
  • Henry


  • Inocente – The Winner
  • Kings Point
  • Mondays at Racine
  • Open Heart
  • Redemption


  • «Paperman» - The Winner
  • Maggie Simpson in "The Longest Daycare"
  •  «Adam and Dog»
  • «Fresh Guacamole»
  • «Head over Heels»

ACTRESS in a Leading Role

  • Jessica Chastain — «Zero Dark Thirty»
  • Jennifer Lawrence— «Silver Linings Playbook» - The Winner
  •  Emmanuelle Riva — «Amour»
  • Naomi Watts— «The Impossible»
  • Quvenzhané Wallis — «Beasts of the Southern Wild»

ACTOR in a Leading Role

  • Bradley Cooper — «Silver Linings Playbook»
  • Daniel Day-Lewis — «Lincoln» - The Winner
  • Hugh Jackman — «Les Misérables»
  • Joaquin Phoenix — «The Master»
  • Denzel Washington — «Flight»


  • Benh Zeitlin — «Beasts of the Southern Wild»
  • David O. Russell — «Silver Linings Playbook»
  • Michael Haneke — «Amour»
  • Steven Spielberg — «Lincoln»
  • Ang Lee — «Life of Pi» - The Winner


  • Claudio Miranda — «Life of Pi» - The Winner
  • Robert Richardson — «Django Unchained»
  • Roger Deakins — «Skyfall»
  • Seamus McGarvey — «Anna Karenina»
  • Janusz Kaminski — «Lincoln»


  • «Life of Pi» — Tim Squyres
  • «Lincoln» — Michael Kahn
  • «Silver Linings Playbook» — Jay Cassidy and Crispin Struthers
  • «Argo» — William Goldenberg – The Winner
  • «Zero Dark Thirty» — Dylan Tichenor and William Goldenberg


  •  «Anna Karenina» — Jacqueline Durran – The Winner
  • «Snow White and the Huntsman» — Colleen Atwood
  • «Mirror Mirror» — Eiko Ishioka
  • «Lincoln» — Joanna Johnston
  • «Les Misérables» — Paco Delgado


  • «Les Misérables» - The Winner
  • «Hitchcock»
  • «The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey»


  • «Anna Karenina» — Sarah Greenwood (Production Design); Katie Spencer (Set Decoration)
  • «Life of Pi» — David Gropman (Production Design); Anna Pinnock (Set Decoration)
  • «Lincoln» — Rick Carter (Production Design); Jim Erickson (Set Decoration) – The Winner
  • «Les Misérables» — Eve Stewart (Production Design); Anna Lynch-Robinson (Set Decoration)
  • «The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey» — Dan Hennah (Production Design); Ra Vincent and Simon Bright (Set Decoration)

WRITINGOriginal Screenplay

  • «Moonrise Kingdom» Written by Wes Anderson & Roman Coppola
  • «Django Unchained» Written by Quentin Tarantino – The Winner
  • «Amour» Written by Michael Haneke
  • «Zero Dark Thirty» Written by Mark Boal
  • «Flight» Written by John Gatins

WRITINGAdapted Screenplay

  • «Life of Pi» Written by David Magee
  • «Beasts of the Southern Wild» Screenplay by Lucy Alibar & Benh Zeitlin
  • «Lincoln» Written by Tony Kushner
  • «Silver Linings Playbook» Written by David O. Russell
  • «Argo» Written by Chris Terrio – The Winner 


  • «Searching for Sugar Man» - The Winner
  •  «How to Survive a Plague»
  • «The Invisible War»
  •  «The Gatekeepers»
  • «5 Broken Cameras»


  • Austria — «Amour» - The Winner
  •  Denmark — «A Royal Affair»
  • Canada — «War Witch»
  • Norway — «Kon-Tiki»
  •  Chile — «No»


  • «ParaNorman»
  • «The Pirates! Band of Misfits»
  • «Wreck-It Ralph»
  • «Frankenweenie»
  • «Brave» - The Winner


  • «Django Unchained»
  •  «Life of Pi»
  • «Beasts of the Southern Wild»
  • «Lincoln»
  •  «Amour»
  • «Zero Dark Thirty»
  • «Argo»  - The Winner
  • «Les Misérables»
  • «Silver Linings Playbook»